Summer Reading List

What makes the perfect summer reading list?

You want books that transport you to exotic places, adventures, maybe some summer romance. Whether you are into mysteries or fantasy, there are definitely certain types of books that are perfect on the beach, or a rainy British summer indoors!

Checkout my picks for this summer:

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness

Released at the beginning of June this will be the hot topic of the summer – I read a lot of it on my first really hot day off. I have also just moved near to the beach which was the perfect place to read this.

The Girls

The cover of this screams summer and makes you think of Polaroids, aviator sunglasses and road trips in pastel blue cars – like pretty much every summer music video ever. Even better the book takes us back to the summer of ’69 – I feel a soundtrack coming on.

How to Stop Time 

Haig’s book is released on 6th July and sounds like the perfect holiday read – who doesn’t wish they could stop time over summer? This book will take us on a heady journey through all the best moments of literature and history and is all about losing and finding yourself – one for the traveller perhaps?

Pride and Prejudice 

This summer is the bicentenary of Jane Austen’s death so you really need to read an Austen novel this summer – and with all of the garden walks and country picnics what could better represent the British summer? I will be listening to Rosalind Pike’s narration of Pride and Prejudice and possibly perusing Lucy Worsely’s new book Jane Austen at Home.

The Final Girls

A college girl goes on vacation and comes back alone. This could well be the thriller of the summer. Watch out for its release in July.

Treasure Island

Shame on me. I have never read this classic adventure. But it is the book featured by this season’s Happy Reader magazine so I figured I can set sail on the high seas and try both the book and magazine. And my new coastal location gives me the perfect setting to be reading this in.

Big Little Lies

The TV series has been making waves so it seems to be the perfect time to catch up if, like me, you haven’t read the book. All of the promo for the series screams summer to me – bright colours, shots on beaches – I’m imagining soccer moms holding pitchers at BBQs, I may be wrong but this feels like a pretty summery read.

Burning Girl

Released in August, this is a coming of age tale about two girls in a quiet town in Massachusetts. When you are a teenager summer can feel like time is on pause before you grow up, and so the release of this book could finally signal that September is here.

Sing, Unburied, Sing 

This has been described as brining the archetypal road trip novel into the 21st Century which makes it a perfect late summer read when it is released in August. The burnt orange and ice blue hues on the cover make me think of the relief of ice cream and swimming pools in scorching summers.

Are you struggling to make your own summer list? Feel free to steal mine or check out my top tips for picking summer reads.

Leave a Reply

