Books for Change – Part 2

Virago Press did a social media campaign #BooksForChange designed to share inspirational books by women everyday throughout March. Here is my list for the last 16 days – check out my picks:

C7CVUrkWkAIsUpV
16 I’d give to my younger self: The Woman Who Ran

A rewriting of The Tenant of Wildfell Hall – this book would have been wonderful for giving me a very real and relatable female protagonist when I was younger.

C7HWy1EXwAEtT6R

17 Exploring mental health: Mrs Dalloway

I love how this looks at the plurality of experiences with mental health and how much it can vary. It is nuanced and insightful – a must read!

C7MdOdYXgAIgQba
18 In the sisterhood: Feminism is for Everybody

hooks takes a wide ranging look at sisterhood in this collection of essays on intersectional feminism.

heroinecover19 My green spines: How to be a heroine

A look at some of the best heroines of literature, and what makes a great heroine.

C7X5twvWwAIh2ja20 Made me laugh: The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo

A real and accessible exploration of some of the issues that affect women, complete with snippets from Schumer’s own life. Absolute hilarity but don’t underestimate how serious Schumer can be either.

C7cAkGIXwAAgPEX


21 Poetry: Rupi Kaur

I am very keen to read this beautiful book of poetry after seeing Kaur’s gorgeous instagram page!

C7hIE02XkAEA5_O


22 Feminist Dystopia: The Parable of the Sower

A book I discovered earlier this year which is at the top of my TBR.

C7mRrFQVUAEB4UZ23 Favourite Female Character: Amy

Amy is clever, manipulative, relatable, utterly unlikeable and a complete psycopath – but all of this makes her brilliant! She highlights the issues that many women face so completely and frames her own murder to escape the role she has been placed into.


C7rcQgmXgAEFTU824 Books to make you march: The Handmaid’s Tale

This book has almost been reclaimed as a political reaction to 2017 in the face of very real threats to women’s rights.

C7wl14-VsAETxIV

25 Women in War: When I was a soldier

I read this when I was younger and the story really struck me – it is about a woman’s experience of conscriptionand was so unlike anything I had ever experienced in my life.

C71i0YsVsAAQV9F26 For an excellent woman: Homegoing

I bought this for my best friend who is absolutely excellent! I loved it so much and couldn’t wait to share it.

C76xC82VAAA1AlC

27 In the City: The Girl on the Train

You can miss the importance of the city of you focus on the crime, however, Rachel’s life in the city is incredibly interesting and worth exploring.

C8AOAZ6WsAEMTcD28 From Page to screen: Beauty and The Beast

The original tale has been transformed into multiple adaptations – each more progressive than the next, with the new film starring super-feminist Emma Watson as our favourite bookish heroine.

C8FXmBPXQAEwQY7

29 Back to nature: Women Who Run with Wolves

This is all about getting in touch with an intrinsic, natural sense of self – currently reading for Emma Watson’s book group ‘Our Shared Shelf’.

C8KiomSVwAAwkM630 Books to give you hope: Matilda

Matilda is the perfect book for when you think things can’t get any better – they really can, and it just takes someone special like you to make it happen – we all have a little magic of our own.

C8PsNItWsAA858D

31 Redefining he and she: Orlando

Woolf pushes the boundaries of what male and female means with a protagonist who changes gender overnight and suddenly has to experience the world as a woman.

5 thoughts on “Books for Change – Part 2

  1. Hi there! I just came across this post of yours and your blog in general and I couldn’t help but comment and tell you how much I adore your blog and love this post! Keep up the great work, I am going to follow you so I can keep up with all your new posts!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You are so welcome, you have a wonderful blog! Do you have Twitter or Instagram? I just made accounts and would love to follow you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

