Review: The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock

  Imogen Hermes-Gower's debut was scooped up after a ten-way bidding war and now the novel has been longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction. A work of historical fiction, Hermes-Gower captures Georgian London in a lyrical prose which creates a vivid narrative. Exploring the lives and exploits of merchant Jonah Hancock and courtesan Angelica … Continue reading Review: The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock

Advertisements

What we are reading: April

There is a lot going on in the book world this month - here is what to keep your eye out for: Circe by Madeline Miller Previous Orange Prize Winner is back with a new retelling featuring a goddess heroine. Perfect for fans of Greek Mythology, fantasy or even just brilliant and compelling characters! The Witch … Continue reading What we are reading: April